Mathias Schwab, 1858

OHS Database ID 3069.

St. Mary's Cathedral / Basilica of the Assumption
12th and Madison
Covington, Kentucky 41011

The organ has been restored to a previous state.

The condition of the organ is in not known or has not been reported to the Database.

We received the most recent update on this organ's state and condition 2005-02-28.

Printer-friendly version of this page. (Printer version is also compatible with most tablets.)


Click on thumbnail images to see the larger image in a new window or tab.

Nave, Gallery, and Organ Case. Image Supplied by Gregory Schaffer and the Cathedral Concert Series 2001-09-21

If you can provide us with additional photographs, you may either upload them through our online form or follow these instructions to send them to us as e-mail attachments.

The organ is in a gallery-level case at the rear of the room.

Two manuals. 18 stops. 20 ranks.

Slider chests. Mechanical key action. Mechanical stop action.


The links listed here will take you to other pages on this web site. They contain information on other installations or modifications that relate to the one described on this page.

Other web sites:

Clicking on a link will open the web site in a new window or tab.
Please note that we are not responsible for dead links.

When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that we have in the database, please send details via e-mail to

  • From Cincinnati AGO website
    Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption, Covington, KY
    c. 1859 Mathias Schwab organ (West Gallery)
    Manual I:
    16' Bourdon
    8' Principal
    8' Gedackt
    8' Viol d'Gamba
    4' Octav
    4' Rohrflote
    2' Super Octav
    2 2/3' Quinte
    IV Mixtur
    8' Trumpet Discant
    8' Trumpet Bass
    Manual II:
    8' Gedackt
    8' Dulciana
    4' Principal
    4' Rohrflote
    2 2/3' Quinte
    2' Super Octav
    8' Oboe, unavailable
    16' Open Bass
    8' Violone
    4' Flute
     [Received from Connor Annable 2011-08-24.]