Hook & Hastings, Opus 1959, 1902

OHS Database ID 5669.

Immaculate Conception R.C. Church / Jesuit Urban Center
Boston Massachusetts

The organ has been removed from this location and is currently in storage.

We received the most recent update on this organ's state and condition 2008-09-14.

Printer-friendly version of this page. (Printer version is also compatible with most tablets.)


Click on thumbnail images to see the larger image in a new window or tab.

Gallery and Organ Case. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 1999-05-04
Nave, Gallery, and Organ Case. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 1999-05-04
Console. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 1999-05-04
Builder's Nameplate. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 1999-05-04

If you can provide us with additional photographs, you may either upload them through our online form or follow these instructions to send them to us as e-mail attachments.

This organ received OHS Citation number 20, 1978-10-08.

The organ is in a gallery-level case at the rear of the room. Traditional style console with roll top. The console is in a fixed position, center.

Four manuals. 63 stops. 69 ranks.

Slider chests. Electric key action. Pneumatic stop action.

Drawknobs in horizontal rows on terraced/stepped jambs. Balanced swell shoes/pedals. Combination Action: Setterboard. Concave radiating pedalboard. Crescendo Pedal. Reversible full organ/tutti toe stud. Combination action thumb pistons.



The links listed here will take you to other pages on this web site. They contain information on other installations or modifications that relate to the one described on this page.

Other web sites:

Clicking on a link will open the web site in a new window or tab.
Please note that we are not responsible for dead links.

When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that we have in the database, please send details via e-mail to stoplists@organsociety.org.

  • From IOF website
    Church of the Immaculate Conception, Boston, MA
    1902 Hook & Hastings Op. 1959 (rebuild of 1863 E. & G. G. Hook Op. 322)
    16' Open Diapason
    8' Open Diapason Forte
    8' Open Diapason Mezzo
    8' Clarabella
    8' Viola de Gamba
    4' Octave
    4' Flute Harmonique
    2 2/3' Twelfth
    2' Fifteenth
    III Mixture
    V Mixture
    VII Cymbal
    16' Trumpet
    8' Trumpet
    4' Clarion
    16' Bourdon
    8' Open Diapason
    8' Stopped Diapason
    8' Quintadena
    8' Violone
    8' Voix Celeste
    4' Octave
    4' Flauto Traverso
    4' Violina
    2' Flautino
    V Mixture
    16' Contra Fagotto
    8' Cornopean
    8' Oboe
    8' Vox Humana
    4' Clarion
    16' Contra Dolce
    8' Open Diapason
    8' Melodia
    8' Gedeckt
    8' Viola
    8' Dulciana
    4' Octave
    4' Flauto Traverso
    4' Fugara
    2' Piccolo
    8' Clarinet
    8' Stentorphone
    8' Concert Flute
    4' Flute Harmonique
    8' Orchestral Oboe
    8' Orchestral Clarinet
    8' Tuba Mirabilis
    4' Tuba Octave
    32' Contra Bourdon
    16' Open Diapason
    16' Bourdon
    16' Violone
    10 2/3' Quint Floete
    8' Flute
    8' Violoncello
    16' Trombone
    8' Trumpet
     [Received from Connor Annable 2011-08-14.]